91 GARRON ROAD, TWO BEDROOM HISTORICAL COTTAGE LOCATED ON THE FAMOUS ANTRIM COAST ROAD
"Would you like to own a piece of 'Glens' history?"
With the sale of this former coastguard cottage you are offered a unique once in a lifetime opportunity to do so.
This property was built by Frances Anne Vane, Marchioness of Londonderry (as part of her estate) at the end of the famine circa 1849. º HISTORIC STONE BUILT COTTAGE º OUTSTANDING SEA VIEWS TO REAR º UNIQUE LOCATION ON THE FAMOUS ANTRIM COAST ROAD º VIEWS TO MULL OF KINTYREACCOMMODATION COMPRISES ENTRANCE PORCH: LIVING ROOM: 12'6"x10'4" with open fire and brick built fireplace, BT point and stairs to first floor.
LOUNGE: 12'6"x9'8" with open fire, tiled fireplace with wooden mantle piece and TV point.
KITCHEN/DINETTE: 17'10"x10'0" with pine floor, kitchen cupboards and stainless steel sink and tiled splash back. Space for cooker, Velux roof light, Redring water heater and immersion heater.
SHOWER ROOM: 9'9"x4'9" (at widest) with toilet, wash hand basin with separate shower (Mira Electric Shower), rear door to patio/rear yard.
FIRST FLOOR BEDROOM NO 1: 12'3"x9'8" with Velux roof window with access to Bedroom No 2.
BEDROOM NO 2: 10'4"x9'8" with Velux roof window and under-eave storage.
POTTED HISTORY Central to the development of this former coastguard cottage was Frances Anne Vane, Marchioness of Londonderry, sole daughter and heiress of Sir Henry Vane Tempest and Anne Catherine, Countess of Antrim. Her daughter Fanny married the Duke of Marlborough and their son Randolph was later to become the father of William Churchill.
Upon the death of her mother in 1834, Francis Anne inherited a portion of the Antrim Estate, almost 10,000 acres lying mostly between Glenarm and Glenariffe. Following much debate she decided to build a summer residence and in 1848 the foundation stone was laid for Garron Tower. The principal guest at the opening of the Tower was the Lord Lieutenant of Ireland, Earl of Clarendon. Coinciding with the end of the Famine in 1849, the four Coastguard cottages (91 Garron Road) were built as part of that estate
In 1915 the Tower including the cottages were purchased by Mr Henry McNeill from Hon. Herbert Vane, Charles Vane Tempest and Giles Stephen Holland, Earl of Leicester. The cottages have since Èenjoyedi a succession of owners including the Diocese of Down and Connor.